Staff and students honoured at Students’ Union Awards

Staff and students across London Met were recognised at the fourth annual Students’ Union Awards.

Date: 28 April 2015

The Students’ Union received over a hundred nominations from students for the awards that recognise outstanding staff and contributions made by student volunteers.

The ceremony, which was opened by the University Vice Chancellor, Professor John Raftery, was attended by dozens of staff and students on Thursday 23 April in the newly re-opened Great Hall.

“It was a pleasure to open such an important and wonderful occasion. The views of our students are so important in making the best institution we can be. I am very proud of our students and the staff that were nominated for an award.” said Professor Raftery.

“I am thrilled although surprised to have been nominated for the award. I'm very grateful to the students who took the time to nominate me,” said William Hughes, winner of the Outstanding Lecturer award in the Faculty of Social Science and Humanities.

The winner of the Outstanding Member of Support Staff award in the London Guildhall Faculty of Business and Law, Shaida Parvin was equally surprised: "I would like to thank whoever nominated me for the Outstanding Member of Support Staff of the Year award, as a graduate intern I really wasn't expecting anything like this…but I am very honoured and happy that I was chosen and won this award.”

David Howells, winner of the Outstanding Personal Academic tutor (PAT) award in the Faculty of Life Sciences and Computing, had praise for his fellow colleagues: “There are many excellent PATs in FLSC. It came as a surprise to hear that I had been nominated and even more so to hear that I had won an award. I am sure that all of the FLSC Pats are equally deserving of an award.”

London Met’s sports clubs and societies were also recognised at the event. The Computing Society BCS Chapter won the Society of the Year Award and London Met’s Rugby Club won the Sports Club of the Year Award.

Volunteers in the University’s Student Academic Representatives (StARs) programme, student media contributors, across the Students’ Union also received awards and three BA Music Management students were recognised for the Student Services Volunteer of the Year award.

“I am very proud of all our student volunteers and the contribution they make to the University community,” commented Obie Opara, the Students’ Union President.

“It’s also great to recognise the hard work of many of our lecturers and support staff in making London Met a great place to study.”

Student-Led Teaching Awards

Outstanding Lecturer
- James Payne (The Cass)
- Mark Campbell (Life Sciences and Computing)
- William Hughes (Social Sciences and Humanities)
- Mike Meehan (Business and Law)

Outstanding Personal Academic tutor
- Emma Davenport (The Cass)
- David Howells (Life Sciences and Computing)
- Maite Gonzalez Callazo (Social Sciences and Humanities)
- Washington Mhamgami (Business and Law)

Outstanding Member of Support Staff
- Lisa Rigolli (as nominated by The Cass students)
- Wendy James (as nominated by Life Sciences and Computing students)
- Philip Davies (as nominated by Social Sciences and Humanities students)
- Shaida Parvin (as nominated by Business and Law students)

Students’ Union Awards

Student Academic Representative (StAR) of the Year
- Piyal Matilal

Students’ Union Volunteer of the Year
- Edem Barbara Ntumy
- Christopher Rudd

Students’ Union Media Volunteer of the Year
- Asher-Nicole Bourke

Sports Club of the Year
- Rugby

Society Committee Member of the Year
- Bianca Giunta

Society of the Year
- Computer Society BCS Chapter

Student Services Volunteer of the Year
- Alex Kumar
- Jaakoo Pelonen
- Sean Sieker

Full List of Nominees

- Alistair McKay
- Amrit Kaur
- Andrew Moran
- Anil Sinanan
- Aviation Society
- Chahid Fourali
- Chris Chandler
- Christopher Ryan
- David Napier
- Devinder Curry
- Dominque Blondel
- Eduardo Schmidt
- Elizabeth Scales
- Fatima Adil
- Gary Pheiffer
- Irene Geldof
- Islamic Society
- Jason Krumm
- Joelle Moko
- Lauren Bell
- Lisa Day
- Livingstone Musoro
- Madeline Grew
- Mel Brimfield
- Michelle Daae
- Mike Mills
- Mischa Allen
- Neelam Thapar
- Nick Chatterton
- Nick Wong
- Paul Hutchison
- Peter Hufton
- Psychology Society
- Robert Naylor
- Robin Iwanek
- Roham Sadeghimakki
- Ron Cambridge
- Sophie Deijkers
- Stuart Isaacs
- Tehmoor Khalid
- Tina Price
- Vassil T Vissilev

Students' Union Awards 2015