Team HR wins Staff Recognition Award

Award winning HRM Team

Date: 23/12/2014

We are proud to announce that the human resource management (HRM) academic staff team has won a University Staff Recognition Award recognising colleagues’ best practice and achievement in fulfilling the University’s mission and values. This is the first time the University has run a staff awards acheme, which is planned as an annual event. The HRM team received our award on 10 December 2014.

Over the year our team has developed and run a full programme of guest speaker events bringing research and employment practice into teaching, lunch and learn employability sessions, and prize ceremonies for outstanding students. We have developed training programmes for external delivery, lectures and seminars for schools designed to support sixth formers’ BTEC studies, and short courses for those wishing to undertake continuing professional development. As part of our recruitment programme we aim to talk to every prospective student to discuss their career aspirations and how our courses can best support them.

Our winning team is led by Dr. Sue Shortland and her academic staff team members are: Aidan McKearney, Brian Critchley, Patrick O’Connor, Martin Tremaine, Rick Layden, Harinder Dhesi, Dr. Kiran Kalsi, Tana Geoffroy, Tricia Leman, Graeme Connelly, Dr. Faruk Merali, Fiona Colgan, and Dr. Frances Tomlinson. The team is supported by two employment lawyers, Dr Krzystof Boroch and Roger Wood, and organisational knowledge and innovation specialist, Dr. Theodora Asimakou.


Team Leader Sue Shortland