Ehime brings frozen yoghurt to Nigeria

A London Met alumna has been shortlisted for the British Council 2017 Alumni Awards in recognition of her entrepreneurial talents.

Date: 27 January 2017

Ehime Eigbe has been shortlisted for the British Council 2017 Alumni Awards in the entrepreneur category after setting up Sweet Kiwi frozen yoghurt, the first frozen yoghurt company in Nigeria. Ehime graduated from London Met in Business Information Technology and International Relations BSc in 2006.

Ehime set up the business after returning to Nigeria following a holiday in the US. She noticed there was nowhere to buy frozen yoghurt in Nigeria and started a FroYo business.

Ehime said: “I founded the first frozen yogurt company in Nigeria with the intention to create healthier dessert options in the country. Sweet Kiwi frozen yogurt is now a well-known brand in Nigeria which I built from scratch. We are currently the top frozen yogurt company in the whole of West Africa.”

“Studying in the United Kingdom gave me more self-confidence,” said Ehime.

“It also gave me the freedom to think for myself, be a solution provider and be more creative. I grew a sense of responsibility through various activities. In my final year at the University, I was nominated as a student representative. That role gave me a strong sense of leadership, taught me how to be an influencer in my community and bring people together.”

The Alumni Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of alumni and showcase the impact and value of a UK higher education. Award winners and finalists are leaders in their fields who have used their experience of studying at a UK university to make a positive contribution to their communities, professions and countries.

Over 1,200 nominations have been received with 148 shortlisted. This year’s award will see 30 winners at ceremonies held in 14 locations across the world; Egypt, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Turkey, USA.

The winners will be announced at Alumni Award ceremonies in each of the 14 participating countries held between January and March 2017.