London Met staff honoured at 2017 Annual Awards

Staff members recognised for outstanding contribution within the University.

Date: 20 December 2017

London Met’s Staff Annual awards took place this week, celebrating colleagues' outstanding achievements throughout the year.

Taking place in Holloway's Great Hall, nominators and nominees, along with the Wider Management Group, gathered to recognise and celebrate excellence within the University.

Hosted by the Vice-Chancellor, 16 individuals and three teams received awards for their hard work.

Athena Barrett, Internal Communications Officer at our Holloway Campus was among the prize winners after being nominated by four members of staff for her excellent work throughout the University. Her passion for London Met and the relationships she has developed across the University are just some of the reasons why she won an award.

She said: “It felt fantastic when I was walking up to receive my certificate from the Vice-Chancellor. I was among all my friends and colleagues and couldn’t have asked for a better reception.”

Another winner, Tammee Greeves, Executive Group Administrator for Academic Business Administration was praised for her positive, helpful and supportive attitude. Her ability to communicate with both staff and students makes her a great diplomat and a wonderful ambassador.

Tammee said: “I’m very shocked and touched that people took the time to nominate me, it was a very pleasant surprise. London Met employs great people, all of whom deserve to be recognised for their hard work and commitment to making this University a great place. Congratulations to all of the other well deserved nominees.”

Other individual winners included Ashwini Pillai from Employment Outcomes, recognised for his outstanding contribution to the success of improving Destination of Leavers from Higher Education (DLHE) outcomes; Bilkis Kazi from the School of Human Sciences, who has continually built on improving the quality, management and running of our Science Centre and Superlab; and Erdal Dogan from ITS who relentlessly works with students on a range of computer programmes from Adobe Premiere Pro to InDesign, empowering and supporting those who lack confidence.

The full list of individual award winners is:

  • Angela Jenner – Criminology
  • Angela Penfold – Library Services
  • Arun Rajan – School of Human Sciences
  • Ashwini Pillai – Employment outcomes 
  • Bilkis Kazi – School of Human Sciences
  • Doug Smith – Guildhall School of Business and Law
  • Dr Andrew Moran – School of Social Sciences
  • Emily Link / Amaka Achike – Engagement
  • Erdal Dogan – ITS
  • Tammee Greeves – Academic Business Administration
  • Sheelagh Heugh – School of Human Sciences
  • Wendy Chatland – Governance
  • Alaina Morshead – Catering
  • Ka-yan Cheung – Estates
  • Athena Barrett - Engagement

Team Staff Awards:

  • Lynsey Bendon, Natalia Mulley, Christina Pehlivanos, Cassim Patel, Noelle Connaughton, Sue Wharton – Student Journey Team
  • James Hunting, Karen Coughlan, Gina Pierce, Clair Whelan – BA Textile Course Team
  • Nick Gardiner, Joanna Jenkins, Ian Gummery, Georgia Whitfield, Aldo Lena, Roger Gossett, Karl Grainger, Raffaella Pontonutti, Chris Chamberlin, Mia Preece, Paul Starrs, James Davis, Gary Armstrong, Steve Tester, Elena Luca – Sports and Sports Therapy Team

Congratulations to all colleagues who won a 2017 Staff Award!