Awards and appointments
  • CASEP Senior Research Fellow, Professor Alasdair MacIntyre, was awarded the American Political Science Association's 2011 Benjamin E. Lippincott Award. The Award honours a work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist that has proven of lasting importance and was made for After Virtue: A Study in Moral Theory. Amongst Alasdair's more recent awards is that of Villanova University's first Civitas Dei Medal, in 2012.

  • Congratulations also to Dr Marian Kuna, CASEP postdoctoral fellow 2010-12 for being elected dean of the Faculty of Arts and Letters at the Catholic University in Ruzomberok, Slovakia. Marian assumed office in January 2012 and remained in post until December 2015.

  • Professor Alasdair MacIntyre became senior research fellow at CASEP on 1 July 2010. His inaugural public lecture, on Two Kinds of Political Reasoning, may be viewed upon request – email us at He is undertaking a research project on common goods and political reasoning, in which he is exploring the possibilities and prospects for a contemporary Aristotelian politics. CASEP convenes colloquia in which members provide him with critical feedback.

  • Professor Ronald Beiner joined CASEP as a visiting research fellow in the academic year 2011/12. Ronnie is professor of political science at the University of Toronto and, until taking up his position at CASEP, chair of the University of Toronto at Mississauga's Department of Political Science.