

Board of Governors – Governance Committee

Membership and Terms of Reference

- The Committee shall be responsible for making nominations to the Board of Governors to fill:
 - a. vacancies in the membership of the Board under Article 11.2 for Independent Governors having regard to the balance of membership in respect of expertise, experience and diversity required;
 - b. the offices of Chair and Vice Chair (including Senior Independent Governor) of the Board:
 - c. the office of Vice Chancellor;
 - d. any vacancies in the membership of committees to which the Board makes appointments, including committee chair and vice chair positions; and
 - e. any vacancies on other bodies which have invited representatives from the Board of Governors of the University.
- 2. The Committee shall advise the Board regarding the termination of any person as a Governor.
- 3. The Committee shall be responsible for considering nominations and determining the award of honorary degrees of the University, on behalf of the Board of Governors. Governors in the category nominated by the Academic Board, Article 11.2(c), shall be invited to attend for items dealing with this term of reference, if they are not represented in the membership of the Committee.
- 4. The Committee shall consider and make recommendations to the Board on such other matters of governance and Board effectiveness as the Board shall from time to time require, including:
 - a. the remits of the Board's committees;
 - b. the effectiveness of the Board and its committees; and
 - **c.** the making and amendment of Regulations (except where delegated by the Board to another committee) and the University's Scheme of Delegation.

Mode of Operation

- 5. The quorum shall be three, two of whom must be Independent Governors.
- 6. Membership shall include:
 - a. At least two and up to four Independent Governors;
 - b. The Chair of the Board of Governors, to serve ex officio;
 - c. The Vice Chancellor, to serve ex officio;
 - d. Up to two co-opted members who are not members of the Board of Governors, with relevant backgrounds and/ or significant experience;
 - e. One Staff Governor, to serve ex officio;
 - f. The Students' Union President, to serve ex officio.
- 7. The Chair of the Committee shall be appointed from amongst its members by the Board of Governors. Only Independent Governors (and the Chair of the Board) are eligible to be appointed Chair.
- 8. Meetings shall normally be held three times each academic year.
- 9. The University Secretary or their nominee will be the Clerk to the Governance Committee.

Committee Membership

10. The current membership (as at August 2023) is:

Usman Khan – Independent Governor

Linda Patterson - Independent Governor

Lynn Dobbs - Vice Chancellor

Rosie Benson – Staff Governor

Tijs Broeke (Chair) - Chair of the Board of Governors

Awesome Olasope – Students' Union President

Munesh Mahtani - Independent Governor

Version control information:

Document last reviewed by Committee October 2023

Next review October 2024

Approved by the Board November 2023