Safeguarding

Safeguarding: children, vulnerable adults and radicalisation

The University’s Safeguarding Policy is operated jointly by Student Journey and the University Secretary’s Office. The Policy provides a framework which staff should use to report concerns and incidents relating to children, vulnerable adults and radicalisation, to ensure that students and vulnerable members of the community are protected.

2016-17 Safeguarding Policy
Safeguarding Concern Reporting Form

Reporting concerns: who to contact

The procedure for reporting concerns is set out in the Safeguarding Policy. Concerns should normally be reported in the first instance to the Local Safeguarding Officer in the school/Professional Services Department (PSD), who will liaise with the relevant lead safeguarding officer.

Local safeguarding officers

  • School: the School Proctors have been designated as local safeguarding officers for their schools.
  • PSDs: each department has a Local Safeguarding Officer

Academic Services (Student Journey) – Subi Darbhanga (s.darbhanga@londonmet.ac.uk)
Customer Liaison (Student Journey) – Alison Sorrell (a.sorrell@londonmet.ac.uk)
Centre for Professional and Educational Development (CPED) – Digby Warren (d.warren@londonmet.ac.uk)
Estates – Ada Okechukwu (a.okechukwu@londonmet.ac.uk)
Engagement – Sophie Cloutterbuck (s.cloutterbuck@londonmet.ac.uk)
Finance – Pam Nelson (p.nelson@londonmet.ac.uk)
Human Resources – Robert Fisher (r.fisher@londonmet.ac.uk)
Information Services and Systems – Paulette Lyden (p.lyden@londonmet.ac.uk)
Library (Student Journey) – Laura Simmons (l.simmons@londonmet.ac.uk)
Quality Enhancement Unit – Habibur Rahman (habib.rahman@londonmet.ac.uk)
Student Liaison (Student Journey) – Karen Omisore (k.omisore@londonmet.ac.uk)
Student Services (Student Journey) – Lynsey Bendom (l.bendom@londonmet.ac.uk)
Vice-Chancellor's Office (including University Secretary's Office) – Deborah Byatt (d.byatt@londonmet.ac.uk)

Lead safeguarding officers

The University has two lead safeguarding officers who deal with specific areas:

Either Lead Safeguarding Officer may be contacted if the other is absent.

Training

Training will be provided to staff with designated responsibility for safeguarding and will be co-ordinated by the lead safeguarding officers. The following resources are available to all staff:

  • Workshop to Raise Awareness of Prevent (WRAP): free online training from the Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC) on the government’s Prevent strategy and the factors that make individuals vulnerable to radicalisation.